Link

Question: Is it better to post crap than to not post at all?

  • http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/12/daily-prompt-favorite/
  • I have always been a sucker for these kinds of things going as far back as 4th grade and those “Who do you want to marry?” type notes. My two excuses for posting this today are:
  • 1. It was a Daily Prompt, so it must be okay, and
  • 2. It kind of fits in with the “Things my future hypothetical descendants might be interested to know about me.” original purpose of this blog.
  •  So, here are my answers on this lovely sunshine filled, 12th day of November, 2013 in Jacksonville, North Carolina.  I am 45 years old, wearing yoga pants and a hoodie, with feet in my “lucky” stripey socks up on the coffee table, hoping I don’t get called into work.
  • What is your favorite word? Today, for no apparent reason, I think it is aubergine. So much more appealing than eggplant, don’t you think?
  • What is your least favorite word? Moist.
  • What turns you on creatively, spiritually and emotionally?  Honesty, smarts, bravery and a sense of the absurd. And I think aside from the last thing, they are turn ons because they are things I feel I lack.
  • What turns you off?  Lack of the things I just mentioned.
  • What is your favorite curse word? Fuck. The classic standard. I’ve always said this word to myself, but only in the past few years, since working in the stressful environs of a hospital lab, have I started to say it out loud. I have to admit it feels pretty liberating when I do.
  • What sound or noise do you love? Rain on the roof when I don’t have to go out in it,  beach sounds, bamboo wind chimes.
  • What sound or noise do you hate? I work in a world of timers and noisy analyzers each with their own unique alarms specifically designed to goad the hearer of them into action. I’ve come to loathe the sound of any and all alarms and timers. They set my teeth on edge.
  • What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? I’ve always thought I would like to be a wildlife photographer. Then when the BBC Planet Earth series came out I thought some of the best  bits were when they showed how they got those amazing shots. And I thought, “Well, maybe not”…..but, still.  On an only slightly more realistic level, I’ve always wanted to be the swing bridge operator on the Intracoastal Waterway out at Onslow Beach. Nothing to do but sit in the little tower and watch the boats go by- and press a button or turn a wheel or do whatever you have to do to operate the bridge. How hard can it be?  “I think you have to be an engineer.” G says. “What would you do if it broke? Remember that time a boat hit the bridge?” “I guess I’d call tech support” G shakes his head.
  • What profession would you not like to do? Selling anything.
  • If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates? “Calm down, I’m going to explain EVERYTHING.”
  • Sorry about all the bullets. I couldn’t figure out how to make them go away….Swing bridge operator, indeed.

20 thoughts on “Question: Is it better to post crap than to not post at all?

    • I know! I have always noticed the one here has a fold up bed and a TV. There would be plenty of time to work on one’s novel or other writing! I think it would be similar to being a lighthouse keeper except you could get pizza delivered. One of these days I’m going to get up the nerve to stop and talk to the operator and find out the pre-reqs. =)

      • He wants to be the guy who stands on the edge of the field of rye where the children play and catch them as they near the cliff edge so they don’t fall over the edge.

      • Wow. I think I must not have read it because surely I would remember that! I must be confusing it with a different book. Mrs. Johnston would be so disappointed.

Leave a comment